Skip to main content

Page last updated on June 20, 2024 at 9:57 am

The Housing and Neighborhood Development Department enhances the quality of life for Bloomington residents by developing programs, services, and partnerships to preserve community character, promote affordable housing and encourage neighborhood vitality.

Services include historic preservation, neighborhood services, housing programs such as affordable housing, housing counseling, and home repair grants and loans. Services also include municipal code enforcement. Refer to Title 6: Health and Sanitation, and Title16: inspection of rental housing.

On any one day you may find a HAND employee rolling up their sleeves to help with a neighborhood cleanup or sitting in an office advising a prospective homeowner.

 

HAND is committed to sustainability, and we offer multiple programs to assist residents in their efforts to make their homes and neighborhoods sustainable for the future. Learn more in this video

 

 

HAND publishes two monthly newsletters:

  • The HAND Update: Bloomington's neighborhood newsletter

 

  • Rental Central: HAND's newsletter for property owners and managers

 

Staff

Mike Arnold

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
arnoldm@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Daniel Bixler

Title
Rental Specialist I
Email
bixlerd@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Barry Collins

Title
Program Specialist
Email
barry.collins@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Rob Council

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
rob.council@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Rebecca Davis

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
rebecca.davis@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Christina Finley

Title
Assistant Director
Email
finleyc@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Chastina Hayes

Title
Compliance Inspector
Email
chastina.hayes@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Felicia Hershman

Title
Program Specialist
Email
felicia.hershman@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

John Hewett

Title
Program Manager
Email
hewettj@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Anna Killion-Hanson

Title
Director
Email
anna.killionhanson@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Stephanie LaFontaine

Title
Affordable Housing Program Manager
Email
stephanie.lafontaine@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Kenneth Liford

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
lifordk@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Tonda Radewan

Title
Rental Specialist
Email
tonda.radewan@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Noah Sandweiss

Title
Historic Preservation Program Manager
Email
noah.sandweiss@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Jo Stong

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
stongj@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Matthew Swinney

Title
Program Manager Housing and Construction Projects
Email
swinneym@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Cody Toothman

Title
Program Manager
Email
cody.toothman@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Angela L. Van Rooy

Title
Neighborhood Services Program Manager
Email
angela.vanrooy@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Eddie Wright

Title
Rental Specialist 2
Email
wrighte@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420